Sunrisers Eastern Cape was led to a thrilling victory by Jansen’s pyrotechnics.

Sunrisers Eastern Cape defeated MI Cape Town by two wickets with three balls remaining in a dramatic SA20 match at the Newlands Stadium. The dazzling 27-ball 66 by Marco Jansen proved to be the deciding factor between the two teams.

Eastern Cape was in danger at 101 for 6 when Jordan Cox was run out in the 15th over. But by crushing Rashid Khan for 28 runs in the 16th over, Jansen gave Eastern Cape’s flagging spirits a boost. Jansen used his long levers to club one of the top T20 bowlers moving around over deep midwicket and long-on by using the slog-sweep, loft, and pull.

Kagiso Rabada was then tonked by Jansen for a four and a six to reduce the equation to just 25 off three overs. Jofra Archer, the captain of Cape Town’s pace department, then conceded just seven runs in the 18th over to exert some pressure back on the opposition. Rabada, however, allowed Jansen to hit a few more sixes as the difference between the two teams decreased to just four runs in the last over. In the penultimate over, Rabada did manage to take a few wickets, including Jansen’s. But by that point, it appeared that Eastern Cape would squeak out a noteworthy victory. In the final over, Sisanda Magala and Roelof van der Merwe guided the team to victory.

Earlier, Ryan Rickleton and Grant Roelofsen served as the backbone of Cape Town’s batting performance, both scoring 46 runs. Odean Smith (13-ball 25, not out) and Delano Potgieter (13-ball 21, not out) both contributed in the lower order. Ottniel Baartman finished with 2 for 21 from his three overs, while Van der Merwe finished with 2 for 21 from his four overs allotted. Additionally, Jansen bowled a productive spell of zero for 29 from four overs.

Lets explore the scorecard of the match innings between MI Cape Town and Sunrisers Eastern Cape.

Leave a Comment